Menu

Beginning next year, Florida’s minimum wage is going up.

On January 1st, 2017, the minimum wage in Florida will increase from $8.05 an hour to $8.10 an hour. This represents the fifth-smallest hourly increase since Florida established a state minimum wage in 2005. For tipped employees, the minimum wage will be at least $5.08 an hour.

Under a constitutional amendment passed by Florida voters in 2004, the Department of Economic Opportunity calculates the state minimum-wage rate each year based on increases in a federal consumer price index that reflects changes in the costs of food, clothing, shelter, gas, medical bills, drugs and other goods and services used in daily living.

The index, which reflects the 12-month period ending Sept. 1, rose by less than 1 percent in the past year. Florida’s $8.10 wage is above the federal minimum wage of $7.25.

This represents a good opportunity for employers to not only ensure they are complying with the new minimum wage in Florida but also to review other human resources related issues to ensure compliance with the latest laws.

If you have any questions about the minimum wage hike, contact Andrew Gordon in our Ft. Lauderdale office or your regular Hinshaw lawyer.

Search
Subscribe via Email